Friday, 27 May 2011

one of them days....

just when you're ready to rumble with some newly found cash... TWO bills come to the house with YOUR name on it... bloody helll... luckily i only have to pay ONE... it's a damn summons for going only 16km/h above the legal highway speed limit... WTH?! fine me all you want if i went over 160km/h... but for only 126km/h? FUCK MY LIFE... the best bit is I WASN'T THE DRIVER.

other than having to splash the cash on things i'd rather NOT be spending on... it's been a good week. unproductive as usual because i have yet to start my paper. but tis a week of celebration as mummy retires from teaching and brings down the curtain on 33 years of selfless service to broadening the minds of the young. i couldn't help but feel a little nostalgic myself. i'm a member of the pioneer batch of students at the school and at the time, the school was as empty and undecorated as you can imagine it to be. over 6 years of primary education, i watched my mum rise through the ranks from a normal teacher in the staff room, to a member of the administration as the head of co-curriculum. after i left in 2000, she became the head of student's affairs and finally last year, she went up another rung to be head of curriculum. 17 years she was at the place. 33 years in total. only eye-witnesses can truly appreciate the commitment and dedication she has shown to her job. god bless you mama. happy retirement. but please don't turn the house into a school too aite? =P i love you mumsy. happy retirement, and happy birthday!

Tuesday, 17 May 2011

oh my gawd...

it has been exactly TWO MONTHS since my last posting... holy mother of *@(#&(*$&(#*((((***&&... that's also EXACTLY how busy i have been, save the last 2 weeks or so which i took full advantage of to be the LAZIEST, MOST USELESS, AND UNPRODUCTIVE homo sapien the world has to offer. i felt that i deserved that 14 days of blissful ignorance, emptiness and shutdown. YOU try sucking up to a WHOLE community of people for FOUR months and see if that doesn't sap your soul. not that my experience in Damansara was a totally hellatious one, but just try and see my point here.

you're the head of a group of trainees from an institution that's pretty much regarded as 2nd class in the eyes of the majority of people who KNOW that the place exists. i DARE say that the even BIGGER population have never actually known of the place's existence until they're TOLD about it. "Where are you studying then? MAKTAB? UPM? UiTM?" and i meekly reply "******"... the response: "*thinking, rearrange face to look like they know, they give up* owh... but where is that?" and so it goes.... therefore, the pressure is really on to perform well so that the school will not treat us as the 2nd class students we are assumed to be. the PRESTIGIOUS institution can be 2nd class for all i care. but i will NOT allow myself to be regarded as such. my pride will NOT allow it. thus began, the almighty suck-up job to please the powers that be. but in all honesty, it was not at ALL a 5-cents experience. 

to summarise four months of being on the job is quite impossible. there are things that i will ramble too much about, and others that i just wouldn't have been able to recall, no matter how significant it MAY have or SHOULD have been... but let's scroll through the highlights, in no particular order... my first class with the 2 Teratai... owh, how nostalgic... there was a kid who reminded me of Deen, there was one who got my flirt juices flowing... a junior version of Alyn, the goodies from the hostel ... the KONON taiko's (who raise a whole LOT of hell, but cringe when you so much as raise your voice a fraction of a decibel)... and many other kinds of characters that you can only find in school. my first crappy observation. the gossip time at the teacher's canteen lounge. the sort of heart-to-heart with Kak Shah n Pn Tan. the sketch on road safety with 2 Teratai. PE, also with 2 Teratai, and 1 Anggerik (how cute) and 2 Melati (them blood-boilers). dozing off in a meeting while sitting right in FRONT of the PK Koko (in my defense, it WAS gibberish...) NOT HANDING IN OUR RECORD FILES (god bless us all). and just to close the paragraph, the last lesson spent singing, shouting, taking pics and just telling the kids, thank you for the wonderful experience.

so, all that plus the behind the scenes shockers, the departing tear-jerkers, the thank yous, the we'll miss yous,  the come back soons, yeah, the self needs a well earned break. this is not something for the light hearted. LITERALLY. i have the highest of respect for teachers, for the problem with our education does not lie with them. if anything, they are as much the victims of the fickle policies put in place by the certain idiots as our children. but whenever the children don't perform to expectations, the brunt of the blame is against teachers. WTH? i don't know what i feel about coming back to a school to teach. but at the moment, i'm in the frame of mind to take a pot at what the media has to offer me. i already completed my end of the bargain to get myself a degree... ALMOST THERE. therefore, i have free rein to dabble in something that i have always marveled at. thank you SMKDU. for you not only gave me lessons in teaching... you also gave me a valuable lesson about life.